About

I live in NYC and right now I work on some startup ideas in the data space.

From Feb 2015 to Jan 2021, I ran the (300-person) tech team at Better.com – a company rethinking how mortgages are done.

Before Better, I was at Spotify for 6 years. I spent 2.5 years in Stockholm managing the "Analytics" team and then 3.5 years in NYC building up and managing the machine learning team. I built the first version of (and most of the sauce still powering) Spotify's music recommendations, such as "Related Artists", Radio, Discover Weekly, etc. At Spotify I also open sourced a couple of tools, including Luigi – a workflow engine with 10,000+ stars and 200+ contributors on Github, and Annoy – a library to do find approximate nearest neighbors in high dimensional spaces.

I joined Spotify after graduating with a M. Sc. in Physics from KTH in Stockholm, where I'm originally from. During my university years, I did a few internships, including a six month stint at Google in Zürich. I also worked briefly with high frequency trading and a couple of other things. During university and high school I got involved with programming competitions. I have a gold medal from IOI and I participated in the ACM-ICPC world finals twice. In high school I won the Swedish physics competition as well as the Swedish programming competition.

Besides blogging, I also tweet random things every once in a while. I also occasionally write code for fun in my spare time. If there's something I know a lot about, I sometimes give talks about it: I have talked about approximate nearest neighbors, Luigi, and machine learning for music recommendations. I am the co-organizer of the NYC Machine Learning meetup which has talks once a month.

When I write code I usually do it in Python, but I've been using a dozen different languages since I started writing code 25 years ago. Most of what I've been doing last few years has been machine learning, data engineering, and backend development. I still write code some fraction of my time, but focus a lot more on management now, in particular recruiting and how to build a performance culture.

What about stuff outside of technology? Some misc facts about me:

You can also look at a more extensive resume if you're interested.